Telling a RTSP client to switch sources

Topics: Question
Jul 7, 2016 at 6:33 PM
Hi,

I would like to expand upon https://net7mma.codeplex.com/discussions/653017 and ask: how would I best inform a client to switch between two streams being published from my RTSP server? The linked-to article seems to discuss achieving switching at the stream level, but I'm interested in simply telling the client to switch to a different stream URL (still published from my server, however). How would I got about this?

The post seems to hint that it's possible to do this by adjusting the SDP; but does that mean sending out a new SDP? And if so, how is that done using this framework (warning: I'm a TOTAL newbie to this API).

I imagine it like this: client connects to my server (known URL), and then my server - after a period of time - notifies the client that it needs to switch to a second URL (still from my server). My server does something which notifies the client, but I don't know what that something is.

Thanks in advance.
Coordinator
Jul 7, 2016 at 8:04 PM
What do you mean 'Switch' between two streams... it's a little ambiguous.

You can use a Server Sent RTSP Message to send any kind of RTSP Message from Server to Client, if the client will honor the server sent message is another story.

If you can provide more information I can probably give a better response..

You can also use the Time Description within the Session Description to achieve this, but it depends on the client to honor and correctly utilize the Time Description within the Session Description.

Let me know how I can help further
Marked as answer by juliusfriedman on 7/7/2016 at 1:04 PM
Jul 7, 2016 at 8:12 PM
Julius,

Thanks for your response. Apologies for being ambiguous. I'm new to the world of RTSP and so my terminology may be a bit "lacking".